Board of Directors


Mr. J. Edward Kitchen, co-chair
Joseph M. Bryan Foundation
Chief Operating Officer

Ms. Susan S. Schwartz, co-chair
The Cemala Foundation
Executive Director

Mr. Brian Maness, vice chair
Children’s Home Society
President and CEO

Ms. Teresa Huffman, Secretary
Culp, Inc.
Vice President, Human Resources

Mr. David Leeper, Treasurer
Leeper, Kean & Rumley, L.L.P.

Board of Directors

Dr. Allison Blosser
High Point University
Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Education Studies Program

Mr. Robin Britt
Community Volunteer

Dr. Sharon Contreras
Guilford County Schools

Mr. Pat Danahy
NC Partnership for Children

The Honorable Alan Duncan
NC Board of Education

Dr. Daniel Erb
High Point University
Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs

Ms. Barbara Frye
Community Volunteer

Mr. Kevin Gray
Weaver Foundation, President

Mr. Michael Halford
Guilford County Manager

Dr. James Hoekstra
Wake Forest Baptist Health – HP Medical Ctr.

Mr. Curtis Holloman
Foundation for a Healthy High Point
Executive Director

The Honorable Cyril Jefferson
City of High Point
Council Member

Dr. Harold Martin
North Carolina A&T State University

Mr. Dell McCormick
Macedonia Family Resource Center
Executive Director

Ms. Angela McGill
High Point Housing Authority

Dr. Valerie Jarvis McMillan
North Carolina A&T State University
Associate Professor

Ms. Mindy Oakley
Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation
Executive Director

Dr. Martin Portillo, M.D.
Cone Health Medical Group
President and Chief Medical Officer

Mr. Ray Robinson
Columbia Group

Ms. Meka Sales
The Duke Endowment
Director of Special Initiatives

Ms. Sanaa Sharrieff
Guilford Parent Leader Network
Parent and Community Leader

Dr. Terri Shelton
UNCG Research and Engagement
Vice Chancellor of Research and Engagement

Mr. Adam Tarleton
Brooks Pierce

Mr. James Upchurch
Guilford County

Dr. Iulia Vann
Guilford County
Public Health Director

Ms. Cindy Watkins
Watkins Education Consulting